• Welcome to the Heroscapers 2.0 site! We've still got some dust to clear and adjustments to make, including launching a new front page, but we hope you enjoy the improvements to the site. Please post your feedback and any issues you encounter in this thread.

Did the unit/s activation rule change in AoA?

hangred

Member
I thought that common squads could move x number of units and attack with any other x units, not necessarily the ones that have been moved. This is what the rule was when I played in tournaments years ago. I now am looking at the tournament rules on the Renegade site:
Activating Figures
When a player takes a turn with a Common Squad, they may activate a number of figures equal
to those pictured on that squad’s Army Card.● A figure is considered activated once it is chosen to be moved during its turn (even if it
moves 0 spaces) or chosen to be an attacker during its turn.● When a player attacks with figures from a Common Squad during their turn, they may
attack with a number of figures equal to the number of figures depicted on that Squad’s
Army Card. Figures activated by moving this turn do not have to attack, but the total
number of activated figures cannot exceed the number pictured on the Squad's Army
Card (unless they have a Special Power that allows them to activate more).● For example: There are three Arrow Gruts pictured on the Arrow Grut Army Card. A player who controls six Arrow Grut figures moves two Gruts during the Move Figures
step of their player turn. They are still able to attack with up to three Arrow Gruts during Action 3: Attack with Figures on the Army Card (optional). One of these attacks can come from a Grut that has not moved, thus activating it; the other two must come from the two previously-activated Gruts.
 
It has always been true that if you move some Common Units, only those units can attack. That's been in the core rulebook all along.
 
If, say, you have a 4-chap squad, though, and only move two of them, then you can choose any other two to also attack.
And Zombies of Morindan ignore this rule entirely.
 
The catch is that this can be a dynamic decision. If I move 2 Knights and then have 2 attacks with other Knights, I might decide which will be my last Knight to attack depending on how the 3rd Knight does.
 
I've played up until now thinking that the full list of figures to activate must be chosen before the attack part of the turn happens.
 
I've played up until now thinking that the full list of figures to activate must be chosen before the attack part of the turn happens.
Same. I thought that you had to choose a full squad worth of figures to activate as soon as their turn began, because you do move with units that move 0. Was that inaccurate?

I have 6 surviving knights of weston, 4 of which are already engaged at the start of their turn. I reveal an order marker on them and move the 2 unengaged knights up to enemy figures. When I pass into my 'attack phase' I can attack with those 2 that I moved, plus any of the other 2, and I don't have to decide until the moment I choose to attack. Is that all correct?
 
Same. I thought that you had to choose a full squad worth of figures to activate as soon as their turn began, because you do move with units that move 0. Was that inaccurate?

I have 6 surviving knights of weston, 4 of which are already engaged at the start of their turn. I reveal an order marker on them and move the 2 unengaged knights up to enemy figures. When I pass into my 'attack phase' I can attack with those 2 that I moved, plus any of the other 2, and I don't have to decide until the moment I choose to attack. Is that all correct?
That's how I've always played it.
 
You do not have to choose what figures are activated during the movement phase. You can delay until the attack phase if you move less than the max. It's always been this way. (Not my favorite ruling, but a very long-standing one, and very useful for Common ranged squads.)
 
I don't think the rule books ever clarified this? Looks like it was the Activation designation that changed this.
 
I always played "correctly". I suppose it wasn't explicitly stated you need to declare a unit moved, so it was assumed you could declare it at the attack phase.

I can see how it is ambiguous.
 
I actually thought it was the other way for a long time, and I'm a rules guy.

It's a ruling that has caused some trouble for power development. It was the source of the Elaria disaster some years ago.
 
Back
Top