HEROSCAPE
VEHICLE RULES
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MAYHEM IN THE STREETS!

To drive or not to drive, that is the question. Will your super hero get in
the vehicle or will he just throw it?




VEHICLE OPTIONAL RULES

Vehicles are a pervasive sight in any urban setting & now C3G presents a
ruleset to add vehicles to your Heroscape battlefield. In essence vehicles in
Heroscape are Destructible Objects.

Destructible Objects are an official inclusion in the game, as seen with the
Fortress Door and the Destructible Wall. C3G rules for Destructible Objects were
established in the C3G Destructible Objects Rules which extended the official
ruleset by allowing the ability to throw these objects around the battlefield.
Vehicles follow all of the rules of other destructible objects, however, not only
can they be destroyed or thrown, but also driven and drafted.

These C3G Vehicle Rules cover the following areas:

* Drafting Vehicles

* Entering Vehicles

* Occupying Vehicles

* Partial and Full Cover
* Moving Vehicles

* Exiting Vehicles

* Destroying Vehicles

DRAFTING VEHICLES

Points: Some DO cards can be drafted into or included in Armies and
thus have associated point costs listed on their Army Cards. There is
no limit (except point cost!) to the number of different DOs you can
draft, and you can draft any number of the same DOs. However, like
figure Army Cards, each player cannot draft more than one of the
same Unique DO Army Card.

Figures: Like Army Cards, DOs each have an associated sculpt or
figure. At the start of a game, if that DO is in a player's army, they
should place its figure in their Start Zone like any other figure they
control. DOs without point costs are often included as part of
scenarios or map builds and are placed accordingly.

A DO included in a player's army is considered like any other figure
that player's army, with a few key exceptions:

¢ A DO is not considered under a player's control, unless it is a
VDO occupied by a figure in your army.

¢ A DO is never considered engaged with another figure.

¢ A DO never has Order Markers placed or revealed on its Army
Card.

EXAMPLE 1: Vehicle Card

Like the Official Destructible Object cards, Vehicle Destructible
Object (VDO) cards have a similar appearance but with a few
additions

Occupancy: The number value indicates the number of figures that
can occupy the vehicle.

Uniqueness: Whether a Vehicle is Unique or Uncommon.

Partial Cover/Full Cover: This indicates whether a Vehicle offers
Partial Cover or Full Cover for occupying figures

Driver Space: The circle space is where the figure is placed and
designates who the driver of the vehicle is.
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Points: The value of the Vehicle Destructible
Object Army Card used when drafting.

Size/Height: The Size and Height indicate the Vehicle’s actual size
and height as per the standard Heroscape game mechanics, but
also by their inclusion symbolize that this Destructible Object (DO)
is compatible with the throwing rules from the C3G Destructible
Objects rule set

Move: Because these Destructible Objects are vehicles, a Move
value is included to allow their movement across the battlefield as
described in the standard Heroscape rules.




ENTERING VEHICLES

A VDO Army Card represents the interior of the vehicle. Each VDO has
a designated space for the Driver. When a figure first enters a VDO,
the player controlling that figure should either place the figure on an
unoccupied driver space or anywhere else on the VDO card.

A figure may enter a VDO by ending its movement on a space
adjacent to the VDO if it meets the following criteria:

¢ Your figure’s size must be smaller than that of the VDO.
Refer to Example 1 to identify the VDO'’s size on its Army Card.
NOTE - The size of a figure is located on the left hand side of its
Army Card next to its height. The different sizes are ordered
from smallest to largest as follows: tiny, small, medium, large,
and huge.

¢ The current occupancy of the VDO must be less than the
Occupancy number of that VDO. The occupancy designation
on a Vehicle Army Card shows the number of figures that may
occupy a VDO. A figure can only enter a VDO if that VDO has
fewer figures on its Army Card than its Occupancy number
(example: If a car has an Occupancy number of 2, but only has
one figure occupying it, a second figure can enter that car).

¢ Some VDOs may have specific entrances/exits marked on
the figure itself and the figure's Army Card. In this case the
VDO can only be entered or exited from empty spaces within
one space of that VDO and in the direction that the entrance/exit
is directly facing.

EXAMPLE 2: Entering a Vehicle Destructible Object
Gamobit finishes his move adjacent to the Vehicle Destructible Object.

The Sports Car has an Occupancy number of 2. Jubilee, who is already
occupying the Sports Car, is in Gambit’s army. As a medium figure,
Gambit can enter this vehicle.

OCCUPYING VEHICLES

Figures occupying a VDO are still considered to be on the battlefield,
controlled by the player whose army they are in, and occupying the
same space {(or spaces) as that VDO for the purpose of counting
spaces for range and power selection but not for the effects of any
special terrain rules for that space.

Figures occupying a VDO are considered adjacent to all other figures
occupying that VDO and to the VDO itself, but are never considered
adjacent to or engaged with figures outside of the VDO.

Instead of moving normally, a figure on a VDO Army Card may move
into an unoccupied space designated on the card, such as the
driver's space, or out of a designated space to the passenger area of
the card.

If a figure you control is the only figure occupying a VDO or if a figure
you control is occupying the designated Driver space in aVDO, you
now control that VDO.

PARTIAL COVER AND FULL COVER

As denoted in the left box of each VDO, a VDO can have Partial Cover
or Full Cover.

Figures occupying Vehicles with Full Cover are never in clear sight of
figures outside of that Vehicle, never have clear sight on figures
outside of that Vehicle, and may never attack or be attacked by a
figure outside of that Vehicle.

VDOs with Partial Cover do allow for clear sight between figures
occupying that VDO and figures on the outside. Partial Cover VD0Os
are those with windows or other openings that allow for clear sight.
These clear sight openings will be marked on Army Cards by the
green target points on the VDO’s Hit Zone. Clear sight can only be
traced through these target points.

When a figure occupying a Partial Cover VDO targets a figure outside
of that VDO, they should use the target point for that VDO to trace line
of sight and range. When a figure outside of a Partial Cover VDO
wishes to target a figure occupying that VDO, they should use the
target points for that VDO as the hit zone for that figure.

If a special power targets or chooses a space instead of a figure and
the space the VDO occupies is chosen, the VDO and all figures
occupying the VDO are affected.




MOVING VEHICLES

Instead of moving normally with an Army Card you control, if one of
the figures from that card occupies the Driver space for a VDO, you
may move that VDO any number of spaces up to its Move number.
You may only move each VDO this way once during each player turn,

When moving the VDO, follow standard movement rules. VDOs are

never considered engaged and never make or receive leaving
engagement attacks.

If a VDO would be moved, any figures occupying it stay in that VDO

and are moved with it. If any of the occupants cannot be moved for
any reason, that VDO cannot be moved.

EXITING VEHICLES

After moving a VDO you control on your turn or instead of moving a
figure occupying a VDO, you may exit with any or all of your figures
that occupy that VDO.

To exit with a figure that is occupying a VDO, place it on an empty
space adjacent to the VDO (adjacent to the VDO's entrance/exit area
if it has one). If an exiting figure was engaged with any other figures
occupying the VDO prior to exiting the VDO, it will take any leaving
engagement attacks.

If your figure exits a VDO that you do not control and your figure does
not have the Super Strength special power, before placing your
figure, roll one unblockable attack die against it.

DESTROYING VEHICLES

If a VDO receives enough wounds to be destroyed, each figure
occupying a space on top of that VDO's sculpt or occupying a space
on that VDO's Army Card immediately receives X Wounds where X =
any excess wounds the VDO received beyond what was needed to
destroy it.

After removing the destroyed VDO from the battlefield, players may, in
initiative order, place all of their figures that remain on top of the
VDO's sculpt on spaces previously occupied by the destroyed VDO.

Then players may, in initiative order, place each remaining figure they
control that was occupying the VDO's Army Card on a space or
spaces previously occupied by the destroyed VDO. If a figure that was
occupying a destroyed VDO cannot be placed on a legal space or
spaces, that figure is immediately destroyed.

Figures moved when the VDO is destroyed never take any leaving
engagement attacks but will receive any falling damage that may

apply.

EXAMPLE 3: Exiting a Vehicle Destructible Object
With Gambit and Jubilee occupying the Sports Car, the player
controlling them uses Jubilee’s turn to move the vehicle. After moving,
the player then decides both figures will exit the Sports Car by placing
each of them on empty spaces adjacent to the vehicle. The controlling
player may now use Jubilee to attack if desired.

EXAMPLE 4: Figure placement after a Vehicle Destructible
Object is destroyed.
In this case the Sports Car is under an over-hang.

When a vehicle is destroyed, each occupying figure is placed on one
of the spaces that the vehicle occupied before being destroyed (in this
example, the 2 red spaces indicated in the picture below).

In this example, Jubilee has a height of 4 and there is only 3 levels
underneath the overhang. Because Jubilee cannot legally be placed
there, she is destroyed. If Jubliee were an Event Hero, she would
receive 4 wounds and could not be placed on the battlefield.

—






